Couch Surfing vs. The Real World…

Since I haven’t had an official job since the end of July, I have gotten to experience the occupation of a couch surfer…and while Lincoln would not be my first destination to do this in (Long Beach sounds like a better place) it has been a glorious experience and I’ve realized that I, up until now, have taken getting a job and an education way too seriously.

Yes, they are important but whatever happened to relaxing and just kicking back? Yes, it has gotten boring at times and I do crave human interaction at some points, for the most part its been a great month. Now only if I could do this forever!

I’ve realized that – Yes, there is a level of potential inside of me that for some reason (either guilt, embarrassment or just plain stubbornness) I won’t go to. I don’t know how to open that part of me up, but I am determined to find out.  Maybe it will take a move as drastic as going to a place with just the things in my suitcase and having to make it that way or taking a two week vacation…without a cell phone, with out a computer, just me, myself and I.

But the real world is coming back to me quickly and loans have to be repaid…but I am making a committment right here and right now that I will not let those things hold me back any longer from doing things that I think I should or want to do……

, , ,

  1. #1 by Eric Lee on 26, August 2008 - 1:33 am

    Hi there,

    I looked over your blog and it looks really good. Do you ever do link exchanges on your blog roll? If you do, I’d like to exchange links with you.

    Let me know if you’re interested.

    Thanks..

  2. #2 by Varun on 26, August 2008 - 8:05 am

    Hey,this is simply superb the way you presented it. Visit my Travel Blog

  3. #3 by Sarah on 26, August 2008 - 6:34 pm

    Hey there. The fries were yummy! I can’t wait to do it again. Thanks for the comment.

    And, so you know that you are not alone….I’ve been a couch bum for the past month. Actually ever since I got to my new home state. Isn’t it awesome?

    I applied to a bunch of “work at home” jobs today so that I can possibly keep this beautiful life going. I know I have way more education than is required to sit around at home doing data entry, but let’s face it the real world sucks and I want to pay my loans off without dressing the part and driving to work. LOL.

    So couch buddy, I salute you!

Leave a comment