What’s with “THE”?

First of all, it’s pronounced “thee”, not “thuh”.

But, we are often asked, what’s with THE. OK, let’s tell you. Back in 1878, yes 1878, the University was officially designated as The Ohio State University. Before that time, the institution was primarily an agricultural and mechanical college. But the Universities forefathers, in their infinite wisdom, decided that the institution should diversify its educational offerings and become THE flagship University within the State of Ohio. As a matter of fact, in Ohio Law, Section 3335.01, it is stated, and we quote, “the educational institution originally designated as the Ohio agricultural and mechanical college has been known as “The Ohio State University.”

It’s THE home of the largest campus in the United States.

It’s THE home of seven college football National Championships.

It’s THE home of Carmen Ohio and Brutus the Buckeye.

It’s THE home of 102,329 Scarlet and Gray fans on any given Saturday.

It’s THE one. THE only. THE Ohio State University.


, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: