How Firm Thy Friendship…

Around this time of year I am always taken back to September 19th, 2002.  The day I moved into my dorm at Ohio State.  It may sound silly that 7 years later I still remember that day and wonder what my life would be like without the people and the place that Ohio State is to me.

I recently found a whole lot of old CD’s that I burned that year, and each track takes me back to that year, that place, and those people.

As much as some of those moments would like to be forgotten, there are so many more that I want to remember forever.

I ended up in a place where no one knew me, and if they did, they probably didn’t talk to me that much.  I had so much to learn about life, my choices and myself that year…and I did, because of the people who were my first Ohio State family.  I don’t talk to many of them anymore, but the ones that matter the most I do.  And even those people, I don’t (unfortunately) talk to that often.

When I was on campus two weekends ago, I was also reflecting on this past year, the first year since 1988 that I hadn’t been in some kind of school and how that has shaped me as well.  If there is a better place to reflect than in a stadium on the banks of the Olentangy River, please let me know…because I for one may never agree.  Life hasn’t always been the easiest, but in the end it usually turns out right.  Even the worst things, when they first happen, most of the time turn out for the best.

I had my ups, downs, twists and turns while I was at Ohio State, there were many times when I wanted to quit or just stop in the middle of the path I was on and turn around.  Some of you know about those, and some of you don’t.  That doesn’t matter, what matters is the fact that when I was at Ohio State I learned that there are only a few things to count on in life….yourself, your family and friends, how much your surrounding dictate who you are, and just how much one place can mean to you.

Ohio State, throughout my 4 years, but especially my freshman year, changed my life…

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

