The Whole Other Level

Jim Craig: Wait a second, I’ve given you all I’ve got, and now you’re pulling the plug on me?
Herb Brooks: Have you? Given me your very best? Because I know there’s a lot more in you, a whole other level, that for some reason you just don’t want to go to!… Aww, what the hell, you don’t understand what the hell I’m talking about.
Jim Craig: No… you know what I understand, Herb? I don’t understand you, nobody on this team understands you. You, with your ridiculous sayings, and your drills, and those stupid psychology tests that you had everybody take- [cut off by Herb]
Herb Brooks: Everybody?
[Starts jogging up the stairs, while Jimmy yells after him]
Jim Craig: What, so this is what this is all about? Because I didn’t take your test? Fine, you want me to take your test, I’ll take your test. Is that what you want?
Herb Brooks: No. I wanna see the kid in the net who wouldn’t take the test.

I love this part of the movie Miriacle.  It reminds me that we all have unrealized potential, but are most of the time content to sit in the middle and not stand out.  We don’t want to be noticed so we blend in by taking the easy road. Why is that?

Is it because we are afraid to fail or be noticed and then fail….is it because we don’t have people in our lives that take interest in us to push us to that next level and don’t seek out those who will push us?

I’m just really confused right now.

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

